7/9/23: Fun and Growth

Some people think I'm joking when I say that it's fun to teach. I'm not. I get to create a lesson, implement it, and see the result. This involves research, testing, and requires an understanding of historical context. Sometimes it works properly, and sometimes it falls flat: it's experimentation. I'm at the front of rediscovering an extinct martial art in some fashion. We all are. It's amazing.

I get to stand back and watch the class work. That part is the greatest thing to me, as I watched the class grow from 2 to 10. Seeing the students pair up automatically and work on a hew or a drill is a beautiful experience, showing class synergy and teamwork. On top of this and at least for me, and I suspect a few others of this, the class is a "third place." Hopefully we can all be making some new friends here, and just having a good time in general. It is training, yes, but that doesn't mean this can't be a family of sorts.

Just for understanding purposes:
In sociology, the third place refers to the social surroundings that are separate from the two usual social environments of home ("first place") and the workplace ("second place"). Examples of third places include churches, cafes, clubs, public libraries, gyms, bookstores, stoops and parks. In his book The Great Good Place (1989), Ray Oldenburg argues that third places are important for civil society, democracy, civic engagement, and establishing feelings of a sense of place.